Sunday, September 26, 2010

Ryder Cup 2010


The Ryder Cup (officially the Ryder Cup Matches) is a golf competition between teams from Europe and the United States. The competition is jointly administered by the PGA of America and the PGA European Tour, and is contested every two years, the venue alternating between courses in the United States and Europe. The Ryder Cup is also the name of the trophy, after the person who donated it, Samuel Ryder.

The competition began following an exhibition match in 1926 between a team comprising American professionals against a similar one drawn from the British PGA on the East Course, Wentworth Club, Virginia Water, Surrey, UK. The first competition took place in 1927.

Early matches between the two sides were fairly even, but after the Second World War, repeated US dominance led to a decision to extend the representation of the British & Irish team to include continental Europe in 1979. This change was partly prompted by the success of a new generation of Spanish golfers of the time, including Seve Ballesteros and Antonio Garrido, who, in 1979, became the first Spaniards to play in the event. Since then, Team Europe has included players from Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, and Sweden.

Following this change, the event has enjoyed more competitive matches, with Europe winning seven times and retaining the Cup once, and with seven American wins over this period.

With the exception of Spain in 1997 and Ireland in 2006, all tournaments have been held either in the US or UK.

The 38th Ryder Cup, which pits teams of professional golfers from the USA and Europe in a three-day series of matches, will be held 1–3 October 2010 at the Twenty Ten golf course in the Celtic Manor Resort in the city of Newport, South Wales. The event, of which the USA is the defending cup holder, will be played on a newly-constructed course. The team captains are Colin Montgomerie for Europe and Corey Pavin for the USA.

These are the players both teams will be fielding this year:

Flag of Europe.svg   Team Europe
rank (W)
rank (E)
Scotland Colin Montgomerie47DunningScotlandNon-playing captain
England Lee Westwood37WorksopEngland1137th appearance
Northern Ireland Rory McIlroy21HolywoodNorthern Ireland238Ryder Cup rookie
Germany Martin Kaymer25MettmannGermany325Ryder Cup rookie
Northern Ireland Graeme McDowell31PortrushNorthern Ireland44142nd appearance
England Ian Poulter34Milton KeynesEngland75133rd appearance
England Ross Fisher29CheamEngland14628Ryder Cup rookie
Italy Francesco Molinari27TurinItaly10733Ryder Cup rookie
Spain Miguel Ángel Jiménez46MálagaSpain118264th appearance
Sweden Peter Hanson32TrelleborgSweden13943Ryder Cup rookie
Italy Edoardo Molinari29TurinItaly51016Captain's pick, Ryder Cup rookie
England Luke Donald32High WycombeEngland6169Captain's pick, 3rd appearance
Republic of Ireland Pádraig Harrington39DublinIreland81222Captain's pick, 6th appearance

Flag of the United States.svg   Team USA
Corey Pavin50Dallas, TexasNon-playing captain
Phil Mickelson40Rancho Santa Fe, California128th appearance
Hunter Mahan28Plano, Texas2152nd appearance
Bubba Watson31Bagdad, Florida325Ryder Cup rookie
Jim Furyk40Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida467th appearance
Steve Stricker43Madison, Wisconsin542nd appearance
Dustin Johnson26Myrtle Beach, South Carolina612Ryder Cup rookie
Jeff Overton27Bloomington, Indiana749Ryder Cup rookie
Matt Kuchar32Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida810Ryder Cup rookie
Zach Johnson34Lake Mary, Florida1118Captain's pick, 2nd appearance
Tiger Woods34Windermere, Florida121Captain's pick, 6th appearance
Stewart Cink37Duluth, Georgia1435Captain's pick, 5th appearance
Rickie Fowler21Las Vegas, Nevada2032Captain's pick, Ryder Cup rook

No copyright infringement intended. For educational, non-commercial purposes only.

No comments:

Post a Comment

English Tests, Exams and Deadlines

Find us here

CBBC Newsround | Home